June 2, 2012: Choosing bulbs for the raised flower bed.

Deciding which flowers to plant in my raised flower bed was a tough task to accomplish.  There are so many possibilities and combinations!  However, I had to keep the “economical” part of my tagline in mind.  I chose to go with perennials so that the flowers may bloom year after year without much worry or work.  Also, I discovered a store called “Christmas Tree Shop”.  They were having a flower bulb sale for 75% off the package price!  I immediately jumped on the offer and ended up getting a plethora of bulbs for about $25-$30 total.  Who could say no to that?  Actually, the packaging of the bulbs were not so great, as they were all placed in one large crate and was an mess.  Some bulbs looked rotted, but I had faith and thought I can make it work with a little care and attention.  Let’s just hope these bulbs flourish into beautiful eye-candy.  Check it out!

The bulbs.

4 varieties of perennials.

Hemerocallis day lilies.

Anemones blanda mixed colors.

Dahlias combo.

Shell flowers (Tigridia mixed).

Dutch iris mixed colors.

Hardy lilies oriental type.

Bleeding heart and red day lily.

Pink and orange day lily.

Calla lilies zantedeschia yellow.

Calla lilies zantedeschia orange.

Calla lilies zantedeschia magenta.

Calla lilies zantedeschia pink.

Leave a comment